Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Never Gone by Laurel Garver (REVIEW)


Never Gone

Author: Laurel Garver
Category: Christian
Suitable for: Young teens through adults. 
My Rating: 4.5 Stars
Format Read for Review: Kindle
Pages: 236

Description: This book is full of twists and turns, of love and forgiveness, and of faith and clarity. In this book a husband and father dies leaving behind a wife and daughter to grieve in their own ways. The daughter's grieving takes her through experiences that with the help of friends and family open her eyes to the truth about the people around her and helps her bond with her mother. 

In Short: This is a story about a girl and her mother dealing with grief. You are taken through an emotional journey of the intense pain of losing a loved one. The tragic loss of her father forces Dani, our protaganist to form a closer relationship with her mother. This book shows that with the support of loved ones and faith in God people can get through anything. 

Pros: This story is beautiful and inspirational and can reassure someone in pain that things will get better. It is a really good length and makes for a great read. 

Cons: I had no notable issues with this book. 

We were sent a free copy of this book by the author for an honest review. 




Friday, May 31, 2013

A Very Faery Giveaway Contest WINNER Has Been Chosen!

 

The Winner of the Very Faery Giveaway Contest Has been chosen!

Congratulations Melissa! 

Thank you all for entering! We hope everyone had a fun time! 

Check back often for future chances to win in many other great contests! 

Sunday, May 26, 2013

Woof by Dakota Douglas (REVIEW)



Woof


Author: Dakota Douglas
Category: Children’s Book (Non-Illustrated)
Suitable for: All ages, ideal for age 7+
My Rating:  Stars
Format Read for Review: Kindle
Pages: 21

Description: This is a lovely little children’s book featuring a boy and a magical dog. A lonely, shy boy meets a special dog that trades body’s with him and helps change the boy’s life for the better. The book is split into two separate exciting stories featuring the same cast and same general theme.

In Short: This is a really cute funny story. I thought the plot was really unique and interesting. The story is simple yet meaningful and encourages families to spend more time together.

Pros: This book is original and fun to read. I think many children will enjoy it. I like that the general theme is that parents need to spend a lot of time with their children because that is really important. The first story is really cute and the second story was a bit like a superhero book with a body-swapping crime fighting dog. The stories are fast paced, action packed and perfect length for young readers. 

Cons: I have no cons to list for this book. 


I was sent a free copy of this book by the author for an honest review.




Friday, May 24, 2013

The Julius Romeros Extravaganza Part 1 The Bearded Girl by Hayley Lawson-Smith (REVIEW)



The Julius Romeros Extravaganza
Part 1 The Bearded Girl

Author: Hayley Lawson-Smith
Category: Fiction
Suitable for: Pre-Teens and up
My Rating: 5 Stars
Format Read for Review: Kindle
Pages: 422

Description: This is a whimsical tale of a precious little girl born with a beard. The story covers interesting periods of her life from her birth through her childhood and into adulthood. This book gives you a fresh perspective of “side show freaks” and a new definition for the word family.

In short: This is a humorous story filled with a unique cast of bizarre characters. I especially loved the animals in this book and I thought the chimpanzee Maestro was really funny. If you are looking for a very different story and a feel-good book look no farther!

Pros: Even though this book has a sad theme of a girl with a beard who is rejected by almost everyone it is written in such a beautiful way that doesn’t sadden you but instead gives you hope and joy. This book is also very humorous and has a lot of creative details. The characters in this book are truly imaginative! I have never read about a more eccentric group of people.

I was sent a free copy of this book by the author for an honest review.





Saturday, May 18, 2013

Shara and the Haunted Village by Jeffrey Getzin (REVIEW)




Shara and the Haunted Village          

Author:  Jeffrey Getzin
Category: Mystery/Adventure
Suitable for ages:  Young teens to adults
My Rating: 4.5 Stars
Pages: 156

Description:  This book is about a woman named Shara that is very down on her luck.  With no money and no job. She accepts an offer that sucks her into a world of danger and adventure. A world with a wizard, demon, ghosts and men that can’t be trusted.  The setting of this book takes place in a ancient, mysterious village. Shara and her companion much find a way out.

In Short:  This book takes you to a haunted village which contains a wizard, a demon and ghosts. You find yourself wondering what is real and what is not while you eagerly read to find out how they get out?

Pros:  This book is an incredibly fascinating read that is full of adventure. I found the characters to be especially unique and wild.

Cons: I sometimes had a hard time visualizing what the author was describing. 


Friday, May 17, 2013

Dark Water by Chynna Laird (REVIEW)



Dark Water

Author: Chynna Laird
Category: Murder Mystery
Suitable for ages:  Young teens thru adults
My Rating: 4.5 Stars
Format Read for Review: Kindle
Pages: 166

Description:  This book is about a woman that disappears, leaving behind two daughters that want to know what happen to her.  With the help of a friend and ghosts her 16 years daughter struggles to try and find out what happen to her mother while helping her grandparents to take care of her younger sister.

In Short: The setting takes place at a lake and the story is full of mystery leaving you hanging until the end.

Pros:  This book has a little of everything: mystery, wonderful setting, family, friends and even ghosts.

Cons: I can’t think of any problems with this book. 


Friday, May 3, 2013

Jagged Little Edges by Lorelie Rozzano (REVIEW)


Jagged Little Edges

Author: Lorelie Rozzano
Category: Drama (Drug Addiction)
Suitable for: Teens+
My Rating: 4 Stars
Format Read for Review: Kindle
Pages: 410

Description: This book is the tale of a girl named Lyndsey who is from a dysfunctional family and who struggles with mental illness and drug addiction. Her story spans from high school through her adult life as her drug problems worsen until she hits rock bottom and then must face the challenge of recovery.

In Short: This book has an interesting plot with a lot of strange developments. You get a close up look into the dark life of a drug addict who is dealing with intense emotional pain and sickness. It took me to a world I have only ever glimpsed before in TV shows and movies but now have a much better interpretation of. This book made me feel so grateful for my life and my family. Overall it was a good book and if this topic appeals to you I think you will really enjoy it.

Pros: This book has good pacing. The beginning is especially fast paced and exciting as her whirlwind into darkness begins. This book has the most in-depth and believable main character that I have ever read about. Her personality is consistent and though you may not understand her and even find you dislike her at times she is amazingly realistic. Even though she makes a number of bad choices she isn’t a bad person and you can really feel for her and wish she would get better. You truly feel like you are reading the diary of a troubled young girl. This book isn’t overly graphic making it a safe read for teens. There is violence but there is no graphic sex scenes. This book had a full story with a satisfying ending. Jagged Little Edges has helped me have a better understanding of drug addiction and how it is a disease.

Cons: The bulk of this story had all downs and no ups making for a depressing and draining read. Even dramas need high points in order to give the reader some emotional payout. Even though the sympathetic main character experiences a lot of hardships I never really felt her pain. I think this is due to too much telling instead of showing which left me a little detached from Lyndsey. I am a very empathetic person who gets very involved in stories and cries easily but this book never brought me to tears even though it is an incredibly sad story.

I was sent a free copy of this book by the author for an honest review. 



Tuesday, April 30, 2013

A Very Faery Giveaway (GIVEAWAY) CLOSED

Welcome to a Very Faery Giveaway Contest! 
One lucky person will win all of the following prizes:

Forever Fae by L.P. Dover (kindle edition)

Sookie Nail Polish 16ml (By GeektacularLacquer)

Pixie Dust Nail Polish 16ml, Lavender Vanilla Mini Soap Bar, and Rose Soap Bar (By AdorBeautySupplies)

Giveaway is open worldwide and ends May 31st at 12 AM (eastern time). Enter at the bottom of this post.

Forever Fae (kindle edition) by L.P. Dover











a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, April 29, 2013

Sara Dippity by Maggie Murphy (REVIEW)


Sara Dippity by Maggie Murphy

Author: Maggie Murphy
Illustrated by: Mary Kate Murphy
Category: Children's Book (Helping kids cope with death)
Suitable for: All ages
My Rating: 5 Stars
Format Read for Review: Kindle
Pages: 29

Description: This is the story of a little girl mourning the loss of her grandmother. She encounters a cardinal in her backyard that brings her out of her slump by helping her to remember the good times she had with her grandma and showing her that she can still be happy. 

In Short: This is a truly wonderful and touching story. I think this could be a great book to read to a child that has recently lost a loved one or experienced any other kind of sadness.

Pros: The illustrations in this book are absolutely adorable. I love the way they are colored in as the story is told. In essence showing the change in the girls mood as the light comes back into her life. It’s kind of hard to explain you’ll have to see it for yourself. Very beautiful story.

Cons: I found no faults with this book. 



I was sent a free copy of this book by the author in return for an honest review. 



Thursday, April 25, 2013

Fallen by Lauren Kate (REVIEW)


Fallen

Author: Lauren Kate
Category: YA Supernatural Romance (Angels)
Suitable for: teens+
My Rating: 2.5 Stars
Format Read for Review:  Kindle
Pages: 466

Description: A mysterious and confusing book about a teenage girl with a troubled past who is sent to a boarding school. There she is drawn to a boy who tries to avoid her and chased by another boy she has no interest in. All the while strange shadows stalk her and she fears for her sanity.

In Short: This book is incredibly drawn out and purposefully and annoyingly mysterious. The book ends without answering all of your and the main character’s questions because ‘it’s just too much information and too little time to explain.’ The entire bulk of the book is about a teen girl with a crush (which is very boring to read about). If you liked Twilight you might like this book, it is similar in many aspects. However I thought Twilight was better.

Pros: This book could have a good story if it was just a little more fleshed out and way less drug out. I imagine if more of this book series had been condensed into one book it would have been a lot more fun to read.

Cons: The most interesting aspect of this book (the parts about fallen angels) is mostly ignored and not at all exploited to its fullest potential. I was very irritated when I reached the end of the book and was left with more questions than answers. I still don’t get what was going on but I don’t care enough to read the rest of the series to find out more. There were some scenes that were just downright annoying and stupid. I really didn't get what the conflict was about, it seemed really pointless. The angels are very unlikable. There are definitely better YA Angel books out there like the Guardians series by Lola StVil.  




Tuesday, April 16, 2013

My Current Reading List

Here is a list of the next few books I will be reading and most likely reviewing. 


Fallen by Lauren Kate

             Fallen is the book I am currently reading. I have this book out on a loan. So far I'm a little confused the story is very mysterious. I've read a lot of positive and negative reviews for this book. It seems like one of those books everyone either loves or hates. I'm going into it with an open mind and hopefully I wont end up regretting reading it! Haha!



Jagged Little Edges by Lorelie Rozzano 

             This will be the next book I read. Its about drug addiction which a completely foreign topic to me. I'm looking forward to exploring a world that is new to me but hopefully not too depressing! I'm curious to see how this story will end. Find it on amazon. 


\

The Julius Romeros Extravaganza (Part 1 The Bearded Girl) 
by Hayley Lawson-Smith

            This book sounds like it has a really interesting plot. The story of a girl with whiskers. I am really looking forward to reading this historical fiction. Find it on Amazon.


Cruel Sister by David Conway

            This book sounds like a dramatic and riveting tale. I love books that have a lot of scheming and deception and it sounds like this book just might fit that bill. This book is currently only $0.99 on amazon. You can find it here


Evergreen Girl by Sybil Powell

             This book is about a sensitive girl thrown out of her family home and forced to be independent. It should be interesting to read about her highs and lows, successes and failures. I am excited to read what sounds like a lovely feel good story. Find it on Amazon

And I just might Read The Host

The Host by Stephenie Meyer

           I recently checked out this book in audio book format from the library. During the 2 weeks I had it out I only managed to get half way or maybe less of the way through it. I listened to it while driving on a long trip. It was kinda boring and I kept finding myself zoning out. There was this one part where she was walking through the desert and I thought "Wow I don't need to hear about every little detail of your super long boring walk." Anyway, I thought maybe it would be better if I read a print version of this book that way I can read it much faster than I can listen to it and just breeze through the boring bits. It seems really slow but that could have just been because I was listening to an audio book. So far I think the aliens in this story are huge hypocrites and I don't really think I will really enjoy this book but I'm willing to give it another try and I'll possibly review it. I'm on a super long wait list to get a kindle copy of the book from my local library. 




Monday, April 15, 2013

No Way Out (Scary Short Stories) Free Children's Book for Kindle

 No Way Out  
And Other Scary Short Stories 

By MJ Ware

            If you are looking for some spooky stories for children that are not too scary you should check out this book. You can find it on amazon here. It is currently free. Put this on your kindle to keep your kids entertained on long car rides and during other boring times.

            It is a total of about 60 pages and is comprised of various spooky stories featuring monsters, zombies, aliens and more. Below I will give a spoiler free description of the stories and my general impression of them. 


No Way Out
            This is the first short story in the book and my least favorite. I don't know how much children would enjoy it. The characters are pretty annoying, the story was irritating and I didn't like the ending. I really didn't like the bit about the cat. I think if you read this story to your child they will bug you to find out how it ends because what happens to the characters in the end isn't clear. I'm sure the ending was designed to be scary and dramatic but I don't think kids will see it that way. They'll just want to know what happens next. This story was definitely skip-able but the rest of the book was actually really good. 

The Price of Friendship
            This is one of my favorite short stories in this collection. Its a pretty interesting twist on making deals with demons that I think kids would find entertaining. It makes for a fun quick read and isn't scary so it could be told as a bedtime story. 

Hobgoblin Horror
            This story was one of the scarier of the collection. Being a monster story this probably wouldn't be the best one to read to a small child before bed. It's about a creature that will kill you if you see it. It's slightly gory. This is a pretty entertaining read that I think many kids would like. 



Super Zombie Juice Mega Bomb (Extended Preview)
            This is a 5 chapter sample of a full length book. This was definitely my favorite story. As a child I LOVED goosebumps books and I know I would have loved reading this zombie book. Its about a couple kids that find themselves the sole survivors of a zombie outbreak in their town. Its full of action, danger and humor. It's scary but not too scary. After reading this your child will probably want the full book which is currently $2.99 for the kindle edition and can be found here



Zack & Zoey's Alien Apocalypse (Preview)
            This is another preview of a full length book. This story is about aliens that like to eat fat people. Its pretty humorous and I think small children will really love that it also has pictures in it. Out of all the stories included in the book No Way Out - And Other Scary Short Stories this one is probably geared for the youngest age group. I think children would find this story a little scary and exciting to read. The full length version of this book is currently only $0.99 for the kindle version at Amazon and can be found here




Saturday, April 13, 2013

Out of Time by Monique Martin (REVIEW)


Out of Time: A Time Travel Mystery

Author: Monique Martin
Category: Romance/Supernatural
Suitable for: 17+
My Rating: 3.5 Stars
Format Read for Review:  Kindle
Pages: 296

Description: A college professor and his aide accidentally travel back in time. Haunted by disturbing nightmares the professor fears for their safety as they wait for their chance to come back home.

In Short: This book has a pretty interesting story. The majority of it is set in the 1920s and it has a suspenseful plot. There is a sweet love story but if you aren't into romances you will find the middle part of the book to be boring and drug out. I thought the title was a little bit misleading because there wasn't a mystery to be solved and very little time traveling.

Pros: The character development in this book is wonderful. The characters are also unique and even though the main characters are opposites they compliment each other well and work together well. This book has a decent love story that will appeal to romance junkies.I thought the narrative was really great. It switched between characters to give you a broader picture of the story and also a better impression of the characters but without being redundant and repeating scenes. 

Cons: I thought the middle of this book was very slow and not a lot of exciting stuff happened until the end. This definitely wasn't one of those books that I just can’t put down. Because of all the little hints throughout the book you pretty much know what is going to happen. I thought the story had a lot of potential but I was disappointed by how it all played out. I don’t want to give any spoilers so I’ll just say I thought there could have been more time traveling, action and sleuthing. 





Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Dial C for Chihuahua by Waverly Curtis



Dial C for Chihuahua

Author: Waverly Curtis
Category: Murder Mystery
My Rating: 4 Stars
Suitable for ages:  Young teens+
Format read for review: Kindle
Pages: 351

Description: This book is a funny murder mystery. It’s a story about a woman that adopts a Chihuahua from an animal shelter. It turns out that this dog is special and helps the woman solve cases with her PI job.

In Short: This is a story about a woman and her Chihuahua that solve murder mysteries while having some funny mishaps along the way. A fun blend of mystery and comedy perfect for dog lovers.

Pros:  The characters are cute and very likable.  The Chihuahua is so cute and funny. Having a Chihuahua myself I could really visualize the descriptions the author is giving when describing what the Chihuahua is doing. 

Cons: The only reason I didn't give this book 5 stars is because I wasn't kept glued to the book. It lacked a little something to make it perfect. The only time I give a book a 5 star is when it’s a book that is so good I just can’t put it down.




Saturday, April 6, 2013

Guest Post by Author Lorelie Rozzano

Today I have the honor of introducing a guest blogger.
The following post is by Lorelie Rozzano on her book Jagged Little Edges

A story in the making.

My book Jagged Little Edges was recently published. It’s a graphic, raw and edgy read, on a topic that is often difficult to discuss. I work in a treatment center for addiction. I’m also a recovering addict. Addiction effects one out of ten. I’m the one. It isn't only the addict who is affected either. Families suffer also. I wanted to portray a real and honest look into the life of one young woman who suffers its effects.

Lyndsey, the main character is a darkly fascinating protagonist. She could be your sister, your mother, your wife, your friend. She could be you. JLE takes you on a ten year journey, as you follow along deeper into the throes of her addiction.

Addiction is a progressive and terminal illness. It is also the most treatable. Tragically, most will not come forward, due to the shame this illness carries with it.

I wanted to be able to share my experience and knowledge regarding this topic. Although this is a fictional novel, the first in a series of three, it is very much driven by me. Ernest Hemmingway said it best. “We are stronger in our broken places.”

I've been clean and sober for fifteen years and I’m not afraid to talk about it. I was one of the walking wounded for far too long. Addiction stole my life. Recovery gave it back. If you would have asked me back then, what it was I wanted, I would have replied, hope.

Today I've got it in spades. I could never have dreamed this big.

This book will inspire you. It will show you the way out. It will leave you on the edge of your seat wanting more.

For more information please visit my website at www.jaggedlittleedges.com


Thursday, April 4, 2013

The Banishment by M.C. Beaton (REVIEW)


The Banishment  

The First Volume of The Daughters of Mannerling

Authors: M.C. Beaton/Marion Chesney
Category: Historical Fiction/Historical Romance
Suitable for: Teens and up
My Rating: 5 Stars
Format Read for Review: Kindle 
Pages: 208

This is the first book of The Daughters of Mannerling series by Marion Chesney. I will be reading and reviewing the entire series. Check back for the rest of the reviews.

Description: Six girls live with their parents in the Mannerling mansion. They were raised to be snobbish and haughtiest. This book is about the eldest sister, Isabella who is having trouble finding a husband. After her family looses their estate they conspire to get it back by having Isabella seduce the right man.

In Short: Reading this book you will find yourself transported to Regency England in a story with so many exciting plot developments. The main character though initially snobby has noticeable potential for growth and you are anxious for her to find true love and have her own happily ever after. Marion Chesney’s books are always full of scheming and subterfuge with characters that will do whatever it takes to get what they want. If you like historical fictions or romances you will love this book.

Pros: I loved this story! The plot took a lot of interesting twists and turns. It was incredibly fast paced and fun to read. I really cheered for the main character who becomes increasingly likable as the book moves along. The love story is very believable and he doesn't love her just for her beauty. This book is very well written and the descriptions truly take you back in time.

Cons: I had no issues with this book. 


Tuesday, April 2, 2013

A Death in the Highlands by Caroline Dunford (REVIEW)


A Death in the Highlands

Author: Caroline Dunford
Category: Historical Fiction Mystery
Suitable for: Teens+
My Rating: 4.5 Stars
Format Read for Review:  Kindle
Pages: 145

Description: Euphemia a maid for a wealthy family finds herself promoted to housekeeper and put in charge at the family’s hunting lodge in the Scottish Highlands. After the mysterious death of one of the guests she finds herself trying to solve the murder before an innocent person is punished for it.  

In Short: This is the second book in the Euphemia Martins Mysteries but it stands alone well and makes for a quick fun read. The mystery will have you guessing the entire time. It makes for a fun trip back in time to the beautiful Scottish Highlands. The slight hint of romance will make you eager to read the next book to see if love will flourish.

Pros: I loved the mystery in this book. I was constantly second guessing my assumptions and ended up being totally surprised at the ending. Although the killer surprised me after looking back at the clues it was completely believable so I didn't feel like I was being tricked. I also really appreciated how well this book ‘stood alone.’ When I got it I didn't realize it was the 2nd book in a series but the character development was still strong and enough back story given to completely immerse me in the story. I am a huge fan of historical fictions and mysteries and I loved how this book was done.

Cons: Although I loved the story in this book I knocked off half a star because it lacked a little something something to make it perfect. I would have liked a little more romance. There is the slightest little hint of a love story forming and I am dying to see how that turns out. I really like the main character, Euphemia and admire how hard she works to support her family so I really want her to have a happily ever after. I hope that there will be more of a love story for her in the next book in the series.