Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Free Today - The Last Star & Other Short Stories



FREE TODAY (Nov. 23, 2016)

by: D.L. Orton



If you missed the free promo, this book is also free with Kindle Unlimited!


Also don't forget to check out our giveaway post where you can win this book and many other great prizes. 



Description off Amazon


Share the wonder. Experience the pleasure. Take the journey.

FROM AWARD-WINNING AUTHOR D. L. ORTON comes a funny, provocative, and sensual collection of short stories. Laugh, cry, and linger over these brief but intense glimpses into the lives of two hesitant young lovers, a billion-year-old AI and his female companion, a human-dolphin friendship, a lonely divorcée who believes she's too old to fall in love, and much more... 

The Last Star
Two beings watch the last star in our universe wink out and discover the answer to how it all ends. And, perhaps, how it all begins.

Just Friends
Friends since they carried Scooby Doo lunch boxes in second grade, two college students take the awkward, irreversible, and perilous step away from just friends. 

Phoenix
If you think your roommate is bad, then try living with a practical-joke-playing, drop-dead-gorgeous, celebrity femme fatale. No one is safe from her wiles—least of all you. 

My Kingdom for a Double Espresso
Is sex just a physical thing for guys? You know you're in trouble when your girlfriend tosses that one out after you make the mistake of falling asleep on her...

Down in Flames
Personal tragedy played against a background of public disaster leaves one woman stuck in a very personal hell—and hoping for a second chance.

Willing
Right now, at this every instant, you are older than you have ever been—and younger than you will ever be again. There will never be a better time to find love.

The Idiot's Guide to Writing Workshops
(Or How to Review a Manuscript & Not Risk Getting Run Over in the Hotel Parking Lot)

The Devil and a Hard Place
After all the time spent apart—all the doubts, all the denial, all the lonely nights—a love that refuses to die draws them back together like moths to a flame.


Monday, November 21, 2016

Release Announcement - Feels Like Forever (YA Romance)

Released today, 





Your best friends are what life is all about. They make you stronger. Happier. Ready to face the world.

Just ask 18 year-old Evelyn Sanders. With her friends at her back, she’s poised for all of her dreams to come true. She’s not looking for a guy to make her complete. Especially not a football player sexy enough to start a fan club and a dimple that stops girls in their tracks.

Luke Rogers just wants to have a good time. His loyalties lie with his brothers on the team. But he can’t resist the girl that sees beyond his practiced smile and victories on the field.

The heat between them is like nothing they’ve ever felt. But devastating circumstances can break even the strongest bond. Will the heartache and manipulation that change their lives bring them together or tear them apart?



Sunday, November 20, 2016

No More Heroes (REVIEW)


No More Heroes


Author: Roo I MacLeod
Category: Urban, Dystopian, Crime Thriller, Suspense, Vigilante Justice, Mystery, Adult Fiction
Suitable for: Adults*
My Rating: 5 Stars
Format Read for Review: E-book from the author
Pages: 346

Description: Set in a Dystopian London a homeless man named Ben becomes an unlikely protagonist as he finds himself the target of just about everyone. He was unlucky enough to have a former friend/enemy turn up and drop a bag of trouble in his lap. And now everyone wants the bag from him. So, where is the bag? And what exactly is in it anyway?

In Short: This book is an action packed crime thriller that is set in a messed up version of London that feels almost like the past set in the near future. If you like dark action books with unique stories and eccentric characters you will enjoy this book.

Pros: No More Heroes is a beautifully written book with a great story. The plot was very unique and constantly entertaining. The nonstop action had me hooked and eager to see what would happen next. The 2 missing bags with contents unknown kept me curious to the end. The settings are wonderful and detailed, you can really visualize the story unfolding. The characters are great and well developed. This book features a really interesting cast of street people and criminals. Ben the protagonist is a wonderfully complex, believable, and likeable character. He's got a bit of drinking problem but hidden behind all his misfortune is a brilliant mind that he has to constantly use to solve problem after problem that is thrown at him. It seemed like everywhere he went the sh!t hit the fan so to speak, you couldn't help feeling sorry for him but also being excited by the wild story. Ben also has some serious fighting moves, like a proper hero, and there is a clear back-story as to where they came from, which was appreciated. The characters and the story were definitely very well thought out and the ending was great. It has a good solid conclusion but also leaves you wanting to read the next book.

Cons: I have no notable issues with this book.

*Parent's Guide: Violence, murder, gore, language, and alcohol. No sex. 

Links:

Roo I MacLeod Official Site - You can find a free book there ;)

I received a free copy of this book in return for my honest review. This post contains affiliate links to Amazon.




Saturday, November 19, 2016

Book Spotlight - Warlords of Llantatis by Dominic Green


Book Spotlight! 

A book that GAMERS will LOVE!



by Dominic Green




WARLORDS OF LLANTATIS's graphics, gameplay, and immersive three-dimensional virtual reality experience took the online role playing gaming world by storm when it was first released - but it was first released over fifteen years ago. Now it's a haunt for the nostalgic and unfashionable. Cyrus Baggett and Raj Rengarajulu have been pretending to be Smelrond of Quimnimbriel and Mordaxxe, Pwner of Noobs since college. Now they're old, married, and wanted by most of the crowned heads, secret police organisations and demonic familiars of the game universe. They are considering growing out of this thing - at least, until they meet the Character With No Name. The Character's player is living in one room, which he has never left and appears to be being held in against his will. He doesn't know where in the world the room is; he doesn't even know his own name. The only way of finding out more about him is through playing Warlords of Llantatis, and that can only happen if Mordaxxe and Smelrond can keep him alive for long enough to talk - and if they can stay alive themselves, with Beëlzebelle and the Munchkins, Wizard Sparklebeard and Titanowang Lord of Fertility at large in the same universe.



Friday, November 18, 2016

Freebie! Free Nov. 18-22 Haunted Visions (REVIEW)

Free book alert! 

For a limited time, from Nov. 18 - Nov. 22, 2016 you can get 
Pacific Cove - Haunted Visions by J.E. Grace for free!


Review:

Pacific Cove: Haunted Visions

Author: J. E. Grace
Category: Christian Fiction, Mystery, Ghosts, Suspense, Romance
Suitable for: Pre-teens+
My Rating: 4 Stars
Format Read for Review: Kindle
Pages: 93

Description: This short story is about a woman named Naomi that suffers a great
loss. After moving to a farm with her husband she begins to have disturbing visions.
Scared and not knowing what to do she confides in her husband who takes her to a
doctor. Not even the medication can chase away the ghost.

In Short: This is a short ghost story that has great characters and is set in a beautiful
scenery. I love the ending! If you like a good clean ghost story/mystery check this one out.

Pros: This books has very likable characters and the setting made me want to live there.

Cons: The only time I give a book a five star rating is when it's a book that I just can't put
down. This book didn't do that for me. Other then that I had no notable issues with this
book.  



If you are reading this and the offer is over, don't be sad. It's only $0.99 or free with Kindle Unlimited!
You can try Kindle Unlimited for free here: Amazon Kindle Unlimited 30-Day Free Trial


Thursday, November 17, 2016

Freebie! Crossing In Time (Between Two Evils Book 1) Free Today

Free Today, Nov. 17, 2016!

by D.L. Orton

This book is usually $7.99 but today it is free! Snag it here on Amazon.




If someone took everything you live for, how far would you go to get it back?

When offered a one-way trip to the past, Iz sacrifices everything for a chance to change her dystopian future—and see her murdered lover one last time.

After a perilous journey through a black hole, she wakes up on a tropical beach, buck naked and mortally wounded—but twenty years younger! With only hours to live, she must convince an enraptured but skeptical twenty-something guy to fix their future relationship and thereby save the planet (no one is quite sure why.)

But it's easier said than done, as success means losing him to a brainy, smart-mouthed bombshell (her younger self), and that's a heartbreaker, save the world or not.

Across the infinite expanse of space and time, love endures...

(Unfortunately, it’s not going to be enough.)

FALL INTO THIS EDGY, action-packed, darkly comedic, dystopian love story, and be prepared to encounter a finicky time machine, a mysterious seashell, and a very clever dog (some sex, some swearing, some violence, but no vampires and absolutely no ditzes.)


Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Giveaway Contest 3 Winners and Freebies for All


Giveaway Contest! 
3 Winners and Freebies for All!

Just in time for the Holidays,
Nov. 16 - Dec. 14, 2016 12:00 AM PST

This contest is for ONE GRAND PRIZE WINNER and TWO other lucky people who wont go home empty handed!


Enter Here: 
(If you don't see Rafflecopter below this, hit refresh.)

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Due to shipping costs the contest is only open to residents of the United States.
Please check the e-mail account that you used to enter the contest after Dec. 14th to see if you have won. 


Here are the Prizes:

3 Winners will get a paperback copy of 
The Last Star and Other Short Stories by D.L. Orton



Share the wonder. Experience the pleasure. Take the journey.


FROM AWARD-WINNING AUTHOR D. L. ORTON comes a funny, provocative, and sensual collection of short stories. Laugh, cry, and linger over these brief but intense glimpses into the lives of two hesitant young lovers, a billion-year-old AI and his female companion, a human-dolphin friendship, a lonely divorcée who believes she's too old to fall in love, and much more...





And then, the first of those 3 winners selected will also receive the Grand Prize. 
Which includes all of the following:


Large bottle of:
"Merry Christmas" vegan friendly nail polish 
from A'dor Beauty Supplies

Until Dec. 16 you can use the coupon code: BOOKISH 
at checkout at A'dor Beauty Supplies for 10% off. 


The Roman Soul Series by Reagan Colbert
3 e-books
The Hidden Soul
Soul Set Free
Soul's Redemption



Description of Book 1:


The worst day of Marcus' life was the day his father enlisted him in the Roman legions. Five years later, his commanders have big plans for his career, but Marcus fears becoming a Centurion. He has a soul, his friend, Justus, says. When he loses that soul, he will finally accept his fate as a soldier.

When he is assigned to an execution, Marcus must face his soul in a way he never has before. He wants to believe that he will become the hardened officer his father once was, but when he encounters a strange man claiming to be the Son of God, his soul is stirred once more, and he sets out to find answers.


Signed paperback copy of
 Bascomville: A Story of Love by Mark A. Calde


Great love stories, like great loves, don’t come around often.


Welcome to Bascomville, the singular domain of
Max Bascom, the universe he has spun for himself
from the raw materials of his surroundings.

This is Max’s journey from friend to lover.  From
seducer to seduced.  From firstborn to prodigal.
From betrayer to betrayed.
And finally, from child to man.

This is Bascomville.

It’s where we live…



E-book of 
Feels like Forever by Katie Michaels


Your best friends are what life is all about. They make you stronger. Happier. Ready to face the world.

Just ask 18 year-old Evelyn Sanders. With her friends at her back, she’s poised for all of her dreams to come true. She’s not looking for a guy to make her complete. Especially not a football player sexy enough to start a fan club and a dimple that stops girls in their tracks.

Luke Rogers just wants to have a good time. His loyalties lie with his brothers on the team. But he can’t resist the girl that sees beyond his practiced smile and victories on the field.

The heat between them is like nothing they’ve ever felt. But devastating circumstances can break even the strongest bond. Will the heartache and manipulation that change their lives bring them together or tear them apart?



Physical copy of:
Where's My Award?: How to Get Baby Barf out of a Red Carpet & Other Tales from a Working Mom in Hollywood

by Margot Black


Where's My Award? is a comical look at being a working mom in Hollywood.

It is a love letter to working moms everywhere told from the perspective of former stand up comedian turned publicist living in Hollywood, Margot Black.


Physical Copy of:
by Neville Johnson


John Wooden was arguably the greatest coach, the greatest leader, of all time. These Woodenisms, a collection of his wisdom and sayings, will inspire, motivate, and prepare you for any challenge you face. Woodensims provide good common sense, and will assist you in being a leader and a team player, and will also give you strength to carry on in whatever you do. Their pedigree, of course, is gold standard. Many of these Woodenisms have been distributed individually. They have also been used in magazines and newspapers, and in presentations by Coach and other speakers. Now they are collected here, yours to cherish and enjoy as you strive for success in all areas of your life.


E-book: 12 Steps to Success In Business Life
by Ralph White


This book is designed to be a coach, giving you step by step coaching to set you up to win. As you go through the process and follow the coaching, you will experience a sense of having your hands on the dials and levers of your business. You will have the feeling that you are in control of your business rather than the business controlling you. This sense of power is what leads you to the right solutions for success.

The purpose of this book is to share my coaching experience with you. I want you to benefit from what I have learned in the past 22 years working with over 5000 business owners and managers who were dealing with the challenges of starting and growing a successful business. I gathered the steps I use in my coaching process and created this book. I want to enable you to start with your intentions and end up with the success and happiness you desire. I recognize that most people go into business to make more money and have more free time to spend with their family. What they usually end up with is making less money than they did in their JOB and working a lot more hours than they ever expected. Unless people have help in setting up their lives to win in the game of Business Life, they will not accomplish their original intentions.


Freebies for All
Stay tuned throughout the contest because I will be announcing days you can grab books for free on Amazon!

Preview:
Nov. 17, Crossing in Time by D.L. Orton FREE e-book.
Nov. 18 - Nov. 22, Pacific Cove: Haunted Visions by J.E. Grace FREE e-book.
Nov. 23, The Last Star and Other Short Stories by D.L. Orton FREE e-book.
More Free Books Here!


Also, Rocky Mountain Press will give out up to 25 e-books 

Monday, November 14, 2016

Release Announcement - Picture This by Tobsha Learner


Released today, 

Picture This

An erotically charged thriller set in the art world of New York



A literary thriller set in the art world of New York in the mid 2000s.

When English instillation artist Susie Thomas is offered her first breakout solo show she finds herself investigating the so-called suicide of her female lover Maxine – a young sculptress – while embarking on an affair with the notorious Machiavellian gallery owner Felix Baum.

Set when art became the hottest commodity on the stock market, Picture This is a study in moral corruption, the erotic gaze and the creative process.

Picture This is the latest offering from the bestselling author Tobsha Learner (also known as T.S Learner).


Wednesday, November 9, 2016

Haematemesis (REVIEW)


Haematemesis

How One Man Overcame a Fear of Things Medical and Learned to Navigate His Way Around Hospital

 

Author: Henry G. Sheppard
Category: Short Story, Medical, Comedy
Suitable for: teens+
My Rating: 4.5 Stars
Format Read for Review: Kindle
Pages: 69

Description: This is a short story about a man with cancer who after becoming more ill from the treatments found himself spending an awful lot of time in a large teaching hospital.    

In Short: A mix of sadness, hope and humor, this book takes an honest look at medical care and makes for a quick and entertaining read. I would suggest this book to a variety of people. If you like humor, short stories, have experience with disease or cancer, or know someone who has, you'll probably find this story very interesting. If you have no experience at all with illness or the medical system then this book will be a great, enlightening read.   

Pros: As an intern at a large teaching hospital this book really grabbed my attention. In this short story you see how hospital regulations set in place to protect the patients as well as themselves legally result in robbing the patient of their independence. I noticed throughout the story that if there had been better communication on the part of the staff this process would have been smoother for the patient. The protagonist is a very sympathetic and likable character. You can't help wishing the best for him and getting angry at the way he is being treated at times. The protagonist makes the story and his positivity is inspiring. I loved the bit about the pink purse, that was too funny.

Cons: I wish this book would have had a little more in it, maybe more humor as well.

I received a free copy of this book in return for my honest review. This post contains affiliate links to Amazon.

This book is only $0.99 for free with KindleUnlimited.




Monday, November 7, 2016

Bascomville (REVIEW)


Bascomville


Author:  Mark A. Calde
Category: Romantic Drama
Suitable for: Adults
My Rating: 4.5 Stars
Format Read for Review: Physical copy. 
Pages: 274

Description: This is a great love story about a teenage boy named Max.  It is told from his point of view from high school into college and then into adulthood. It takes you from his first childhood love, Janice, and all the emotions and drama that come with first love; all while having to deal with his emotional, dysfunctional family life.

In Short: This story is full of emotions that made me laugh and cry all way to the end.

Pros: This is the first time I have read a love story that was from the boy's/man's point of view and I would say that it was refreshing and interesting. Also, the characters in this book are likable and relatable.

Cons: This book has sexual content making it unfortunately unsuitable for younger readers.

Parent's Guide: Sexual content.

I received a free copy of this book in return for my honest review. This post contains affiliate links to Amazon. 





Thursday, November 3, 2016

Coconut Oil (REVIEW)


Coconut Oil

 

The Ultimate 25 Ways on How to Use Coconut Oil for Increased Energy, Weight Loss,Beauty, Hair and Great Health

 

Author:  Tiffany Thorton
Category: Health and Beauty
Suitable for:  young teen thru adult
My Rating: 5
Format Read for Review: Kindle
Pages: 42

Description: This book is packed full of information on coconut oil. From the technical on how it works to the basics of how to use it. The author covers all the ways coconut oil can be used from health purposes to beauty and even cleaning.

In Short: This book is very thorough on all the uses of coconut oil and how it's produced. A must have for anyone interested in using coconut oil to its full potential.

Pros: This book is easy to follow and very informative. The author does a great job on describing coconut oil in technical terms for those who want to know how it works. And then she breaks it down on how, when  and how much to use and for what purpose

Cons:  I had no notable issues with this book. 




Wednesday, November 2, 2016

Giveaway Signups


If you would like to be in our next giveaway contest for the upcoming holiday season please hit me up ASAP!

Authors, Etsy sellers etc. welcome! 

e-mail me at: ODbookreviews (at) gmail (dot) com
subject: giveaway

thanks!


Tuesday, November 1, 2016

Release Announcement - Moondance by Diane Chandler


Released today,


by Diane Chandler


This powerful book is only $0.99 on Amazon.

Full description off Amazon:

How can you long for someone who doesn't exist?

Cat has always been in control of her life. Happily married to Dom, but flying high as a political lobbyist, she dismisses his desire to start a family ... until she herself is ready.

But what if it is then too late?

Complex and selfish, intelligent and open, if she is to succeed in having that elusive child, Cat must battle through gruelling fertility treatment and the emotional strain it places on her marriage. By her side, Dom, easygoing and ever the optimist, finds that he too risks being run ragged by their journey.

Both are forced to come to terms with their longing for a baby against the blitz on a relationship tested like never before.

Bittersweet, at times funny, and always emotionally raw, this is by far the most moving and honest novel you'll ever read about IVF and its impact on a marriage.

By the winner of The People's Book Prize for Fiction 2016

A rare, raw, engaging fictional account of the traumas of infertility told with frankness and humour.

Links: